BRICS Nations Create Developing Nations Bank


The Leaders of the Five Countries are Currently Meeting

Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa, collectively known as the BRICS nations, have agreed to create a development bank.  The 6th BRICS summit is being held in Fortaleza, Brazil, with the leaders of the five emerging economic powers meeting.  BRIC formed in 2009 for countries defined by fast-growing economies and influence on regional affairs. South Africa joined the group in 2011.

The bank will initially have $50 billion in capital as well as an emergency reserve fund known as a “Contingency Reserve Arrangement” which will hold $100 billion.  The BRICS nations have been critical of the World Bank and IMF in the past, believing rich countries had too much power, and the new bank has been created as a competitor.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s