Indian Acid Attack Survivors Pose for Fashion Shoots

Standard

Rupa is Joined by Fellow Acid Attack Survivor Rita

After years of hiding their faces, several survivors of acid attacks have come together for a fashion shoot.  Five young Indian women took part in the shoot for Rupa Designs, a fashion brand started by an acid attack survivor, Rupa, who also took part in the photo shoot.

After the shoot, Rupa said, “I always wanted to be a designer but after the attack there was a pause in my life.  I was so insecure and embarrassed by my scars I used to cover my face with a scarf.”  She dropped her last name as a protest against her father, who supported her attacker, her step-mother, after the attack.

Leave a Reply

