Incredible Carli Lloyd Leads US to Third World Cup Title


The United States – 2015 Women’s World Cup Champions

An incredible performance from Carli Lloyd led the US to a stunning 5-2 win over defending champions Japan to win the 2015 Women’s World Cup, their record third title.  Lloyd scored a hat-trick in only 16 minutes, with her third a stunning shot from the halfway line, surely one of the best goals ever seen in a World Cup final.  Lauren Holiday and Tobin Heath also scored, while Yuki Ogimi and Julie Johnston (through an own goal) scored for Japan.

Lloyd was given the Golden Ball award the tournament’s best player, while Abby Wambach, the all-time goal scoring leader in soccer, male or female, finally won the one title that had eluded her in her incredible career.  For the US, it was sweet revenge after a heartbreaking loss on penalties to Japan in the 2011 final.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s