Paul Ryan Elected Speaker of the House


Paul Ryan Receives the Gavel From Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi

John Boehner unsurprisingly cried through his last speech on the House floor as Speaker of the House, before Paul Ryan was elected his successor.  Ryan received 236 votes, 18 more than was necessary.  Former Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi finished second with 184 votes, while Florida Congressman Daniel Webster was the runner-up among Republicans with 9 votes.

After Ryan was announced as the new Speaker, a swearing-in ceremony soon took place.  Ryan’s 2012 running-mate, former Republican nominee Mitt Romney was in attendance.  In his speech, Ryan paid tribute to Boehner, who is leaving Congress after 24 years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s